Jason’s musings

I just need a little time

Colinux, xdmx & xgl and crappy dapper fonts

with one comment

I’ve started playing with colinux on my laptop yesterday and got it to boot my dapper partition. I’m very impressed. It’ll come in handy sometime. (I usually run windows *yuck* on my laptop to play flash or some propriatary format or just to try out some software)

I’ve been wanting for ages to use my laptop display as an extra display for my linux desktop. I know there is at least 1 windows program that does this for windows. On linux, there is Xdmx. It acts as a proxy X-windows server connecting to multiple backend X servers. I managed to get an executable for cygwin, but after installing the 400mb of cygwin, realised that i was doing it backwards! What I need is to run xdmx on my desktop and connect to an x server on the laptop. Speaking of, xming seems way nicer than running cygwin as an xserver. Unfortunately, I have XGL running on my desktop and I think i’ll keep it for a while, so I’ll have to come back to this plan (unless someone makes xgl and xdmx work nicely, if even possible, probably aiglx would be much better). I now even have problems getting xdmcp to work, and I don’t see why, unless there’s something I’m not seeing in my gdm settings.

On another note, fonts for older applications like gnu-emacs, xmms and Gtk1 apps look terrible on my desktop and I can’t seem to find out why. It may be because my original install was from a beta. The fonts are massive, and worse really badly aliased.

dpkg-reconfigure fontconfig

makes no difference. Help!

Written by jasonmc

July 8, 2006 at 3:44 pm

Posted in General, linux

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, I have been trying to do the same thing and was wondering if you could post how you got your exsisting dapper partition to boot in colinux.

    Thanks

    Daniel Brodie

    September 10, 2006 at 6:03 pm


Leave a Reply

